Elixir Deployment Options

We are starting to wind down our local hosted cloud servers to go to something like heroic or similar.
So in order to decide I would like some input of the awesomeness that is this forum.

Does anyone have any experience of elixir deployment to some of the major names ?
Our applications range from trivial fire and forget apps , to heavy enterprise applications.
What would you chose and why ?

Related thread: Elixir Deployment Options - with GPU

8 Likes

I’ve got some experience in deploying Elixir and Phoenix apps in Digital Ocean and Amazon Web Services. The use case of both is quite different:

• DO: Very easy and friendly to deploy. Simple options. Cheaper in general than AWS. I’d recommend for small apps.

• AWS: Has many more options and features. Learning AWS can take a lot of time if you want to use it to its potential but it’s the way to go for large enterprise apps.

8 Likes

What is your monthly spend?

Personally I would recommended dedicated servers.

2 Likes

My monthly spend would be around $14 for smaller apps
to up to $100- $250 for the larger ones. Monthly.
Database servers and backups are included.

These are Debian VM’s at the moment. but looking to find a more efficient home for the smaller applications that we hold for our customers.

If for the small apps you just needs VM’s then I recommend Digital Ocean. However, remember that the data’s location should always be a concern.

I would just get a dedicated server and run all your apps on it until you need another one. By the sound of it it could save you a lot of money.

In terms of vps we all may know the classical names. What do you recommend for a dedicated server? I’m curious.

2 Likes

Elixir runs pretty decently on your average Linux machine.

2 Likes

I’m based in the UK, so look at low-cost European companies such as Leaseweb, Redstation, Hetzner, Rapidswitch etc