The future of Elixir and Phoenix

I am an IT student and I tend to think about variety of languages and its future a lot - lastly after a year of Rails learning I noticed Elixir and Phoenix and fell in love with it - I love the feel and look of both, and I started to think if it is worth to dive into these technologies deeper, because I am not sure how job market looks there (actually I do a bit, and I am afraid it is rather in poor state at this moment). Do You think It will become a valid career option in the future (and how much would It take to become viable option)? Or maybe It is already? It may be worth mentioning that I am from Poland and I strongly doubt that these technologies will come there in any near future, but I consider moving abroad after finishing university (2 years to go).
Lastly I want to apologize for any grammar mistakes (feel free to point out these!), I am still learning.

2 Likes

In my region opportunities for Elixir are rare (and this is optimistic!) while one choose among some corporations which use erlang. But it is hard to get into them, I applied to every single one of them, but had no luck, got the last reply today and again, they denied :frowning:

In the elixir slack channel for jobs is a position posted about once a week, but about 99% of them are USA only, not accepting remote from outside.

Also there is this mailing newsletter, which I forgot the name of, which has a list of open jobs every week, and this list seems to grow with every issue of the newsletter. Again, most of them seem to be USA.

Of course due to the fact that I’m still studying as well makes it hard to find a job…

3 Likes

I think good developers - of any language - will always be in demand.