A free and open source online Elixir and Phoenix bootcamp - thoughts?

I’ve been tossing an idea for a free and open-source platform to learn Elixir and Phoenix. Something like freecodecamp. I’ve been through codeschool and a couple of other material, but none of them turns out to be open-source. And none of them provide a full insight into all the features and benefits nor step-by-step learning for the complete beginner. Some people have a problem with reading the docs and getting started, so I was thinking of a project-based approach. We could have the people build projects, you know after completing the lessons.

Please let me know what you think of this. A few pointers n getting started might also help.

10 Likes

Can you provide more details about what you mean please? There’s very little info at freecodecamp without signing up an account.

We already have some great free resources too - and so you might find it would be easier to help out with those projects than having to create a whole new resource from scratch. Take a look:

You could for instance, suggest/work on a codeschool type interface for elixirschool :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Freecodecamp uses the MERN stack to turn a complete beginner to programming into a full stack developer. A series of challenges in an interactive code editor with projects along the way, FCC starts off with the basics of front-end development and slowly progressing to libraries and frameworks like jQuery, React and Redux. There’s a front-end cert- free of cost, followed by data manipulation and visualization. In the end comes back-end development - Node and Express. The wrap-up is a set of interview prep material and extra projects to build a vast portfolio.

I wanted to build something on the same lines using Vue as a front-end course and E/P for backend cert. Another similar project is theOdinProject - uses rails.The difference is TOP provides only links to the resources and not the content itself.