Advice on how to design this in OTP?

Hi all! I’m quite new to Elixir/OTP/the actor model so I’m having trouble deciding in my head how I’m going to go about designing certain functionality in an app that I’m working on. Basically, this portion of my application is going to receive messages containing information which needs to be written to a file, and then it should queue up these operations as they come in, and finally the queue should be consumed one-at-a-time, writing each piece of information to the file sequentially until the queue is empty.

So far, I’ve created a quick GenServer queue, but I’m having trouble figuring out the architecture from here because the messages which need to be written to the file will be coming in at any time whenever the application is running, so each time a message comes in, I would have to add it to the queue, and then do some checking to figure out if the queue is currently being consumed, and if not, tell the worker process to start consuming the queue until it is empty again.

I’m just looking for some very high-level information about how to best architect/design this kind of thing. I’m trying to keep the implementation as simple as possible, yet make sure to separate the worker process from the queue (and the server process also if it is necessary to have one). Any advice would be appreciated, I’m trying to get my hands dirty and get a handle on OTP with this project. Thanks :slight_smile:

So you only want to consume messages when there has not been a message in some period of time?