Authenticating and testing LiveViews

I’m having trouble testing a LiveView with my Guardian plug.

I have a store that shows a list of products but only to authenticated users. The products are on a LiveView page.
I’ve set up a simple LiveView test (I’ve never written LiveView tests before so I’m not 100% sure this is how you would set it up).

defmodule StoreWeb.PartLiveTest do
  @moduledoc false

use StoreWeb.ConnCase
  import PacksizeNow.Factory
  import Phoenix.LiveViewTest
  alias StoreWeb.PartLive.Index

test "Returns the live-path to edit an item", %{conn: conn} do

html = live(conn, "/live/store")
   #assertions to follow below

end
end

This results in an error:

{:error,
 {:redirect,
  %{
    flash: "SVMNNTY.g2gDdGGGAAACBuBgCPpiwbdwFiAAFRgA.mpLMgb29Cm12wj8XthKTuSFnIu6pD5lffBSfZWJM",
    to: "/sign-in"
  }}}

Which I would expect because this page is piped through a Guardian plug.

In controller tests, we use a method called to_authenticated to authenticate users.

def to_authenticated(%Conn{} = conn, %{} = user), do: GuardianPlug.sign_in(conn, user)

But adding this to my test does not authenticate the user, I still get the same error message. It seems like the LiveView is traversing a different path than the controllers and that sign_in/2 does not work the same way in these tests.

What is the best way to authenticate a session for LiveView tests? Has anyone else used Guardian for authentication and tested LiveViews?

1 Like

I cannot help your directly with your question, but I can point you to some resources:

Or this upcoming course by @germsvel:

1 Like

Thanks @Exadra37, there are definitely good LiveView resources out there but nothing on how to Authenticate the conn with Guardian before running the tests.