Automate new test file generation and test for existence of tests

Hi all,

After 10 years not coding anything I recently started learning Elixir and it’s super cool. During the lockdown I decided to learn Python and Elixir. And let’s put it this way. I’m not going to continue with Python ;-). Thank you for the fantastic language, documentation and amazing community!

Last week I started building my first app and every time I write a function I write a test or doctest (as I should ;-)). The only problem I have is that I’m constantly making mistakes in new <module name>_test.exs files.

Mistakes I make:

• I forget to include doctest CoolApp.Abc so even I write doctest it doesn’t get executed…
  • I copy/paste existing <module name>_test.exs and forget to replace CoolApp.AbcTest by CoolApp.XyzTest
  • I place test files in a wrong directory (it still works but it’s a mess since it does not mirror files in lib directory)

I’m thinking that because I’m just a hobbyist and I have this problem, you pros have to have the same problem ;-).

Could you please tell me is there something that can:

1. generate empty test files as a mirror of lib directory
  2. test existence of test files -> test that there is a single test file for each file in lib directory
  3. test that each test file has correct defmodule CoolApp.AbcTest and doctest CoolApp.Abc inside
  4. optional: test that every function has at least one assert

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Mat

1 Like

A lot of this comes down to testing practices:

• putting the files in the right place is easier to get right if you always start out running the file you’re working on with mix test test/some_file_test.exs. This doesn’t actually change anything, but typing the name more than once will give your brain a chance to spot the error.

• there’s no requirement that one file in lib -> one file in test. Sometimes you have lots of tests, and need to split things up more.