Best-practise question - follow and friends posts in ecto

Hi everyone.
My name is Audun and i’m coming from a team that uses the .NET stack heavily in our development and products.
I got my eyes on Elixir and Phoenix half a year ago and have been playing around with it.
I love it, i love the design and i love the thought behind it.
As my background is OOP for many years i do not find Elixir that dificult to get started with, but i do belive i use quite a longer time to actually understand some of the design patterns and remembering them. But even so, i want to get Elixir into my organization as the primary tool for the different projects we have as long as it fits the need.

I do however have a question. One of my pet project that i have to learn is kinda “twitter” clone. One of the misstakes i did when starting was to find Ecto difficult to understand, and to keep moving forward i started using Postgresql functions since i’m more familiar with that. Now, i have a lot of functions and its quite messy to add new stuff to existing functions and to know whats actually on the server. I want to try the Ecto way. So here is the “thought” out design.
In my twitter clone i have a table called Tweets.

CREATE TABLE public.tweets
id integer NOT NULL
slug character varying(500)
user_id integer
geom geography
CONSTRAINT tweets_user_id_fkey FOREIGN KEY(user_id) REFERENCES public.users(id) MATCH SIMPLE

The user table looks like:

CREATE TABLE public.users
id integer NOT NULL
username character varying(120)
password_hash character varying(250)

A user can be friends with another user:

CREATE TABLE public.friendships
id integer NOT NULL
user_a_id integer
user_b_id integer
accepted boolean
CONSTRAINTS friendships_user_a_id_fkey FOREIGN KEY(user_a_id) REFERENCES public.users(id) MATCH SIMPLE
CONSTRAINTS friendships_user_b_id_fkey FOREIGN KEY(user_b_id) REFERENCES public.users(id) MATCH SIMPLE

A user can also follow a topic

CREATE TABLE public.follows
id integer NOT NULL