Best way to do reduce map list to certain ones?

I’m very new to Elixir, but know that Enum is powerful. I just don’t have the hang of it. Hoping someone can tell me the best way to do this:

I have a list of maps like this:

Resource_Type_List =
Resource_Type [
%{Resource_Type{ id:1, type: "Blog },
%{Resource_type{ id:2, type: "Book },
%{Resource_type{ id:3, type: "Video },
]

From my form, the user has selected Resource_Types with id: 1 and id: 2. So that is in it’s own list that looks like this:

Selected_IDs = [“1”, “2”] ** NOTE: those are strings

What is the most efficient way to create a new list of maps that ONLY has id:1 and id:2. I feel like it should maybe be Enum.reduce but I can’t quite format the fn part:

Reduced_List =
Enum.reduce( Resource_Type_List, fn, x, “go through Resource_Type_List and see if the ID matches one of the IDs in Selected_IDs (which need to be converted from strings to ints). If so, add it to the Reduced_List.”
end)

It’s the logic in the quotes that I don’t know how to write. I’ve just not learned pattern matching well enough. Would appreciate any recommendations.

Why don’t you simply:

items = [
  %{id: 1, type: "Blog" },
  %{id: 2, type: "Book" },
  %{id: 3, type: "Video" }
]
Enum.filter(items, fn %{id: id} -> to_string(id) in ["1", "2"] end)

I don’t know if you “need” to be performant about this (others might present a better solution).

3 Likes

The good tool is Enum.filter.

Please don’t forget to wrap your code with ``` as in markdown :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @annad, as a minor note, formatting code will really help people make this easier.

The other thing that is important is to actually show the code you’re using. The code and datastructures in your post are not valid Elixir, which makes this much harder than it needs to be. Here is a solution using reduce

reduced_list = Enum.reduce(resource_type_list, [], fn resource, list ->
  if to_string(resource.id) in selected_ids do
    [resource | list]
  else
    list
  end