Co-contributors wanted: concert setlist site & statistics

Hey y’all, a while ago I had a fun idea for a project which should open possibilities for exploring data in some fun ways, so I got cracking. Since then, I’ve run in to the limits of my understanding of Phoenix and Ecto, so I’m hoping I can entice some folks to help me out…

I’ll take care of all the front-end/UI aspects of this project; I’m looking for help sorting out how to use Ecto and Phoenix correctly!

This has been my go-to project to get my hands dirty with a powerful back-end language: I’m a front-end developer according to my resume but like to play with Real Languages* to know what else is out there. I’m already familiar with Elixir’s syntax as we’ve been using it at work for years.

Project description:

I’m trying to keep track of the songs which a band plays in their live concerts, and then pull out statistics based on the dataset created from each live concert. I’m excited to look for insights and other fun patterns in this data in a variety of ways, including graph representations of the linked-list-based data. I think the site could also be helpful for fans of the bands for which we can collect data!

At the moment the code is in a private GitHub repo; I’m happy to invite collaborators.

State of Affairs

• I have some basic CRUD routes set up and have put together a basic interface for it
  • Linked lists seemed like an appropriate structure for individual sets; I used Arbor to get there (but am not convinced I’m using it right)
  • I have one significant bug to squash, related to how I’ve used the linked lists
  • Dependencies are quite out of date! (using Phoenix 1.3.0 yikes) I have a hunch that there are simpler ways to use relationships than how I’ve done it…
  • Also have a number of features to add which I’m stuck on how it would be implemented on the backend (I’m fine to tackle the UX stuff myself)

Please let me know if this sounds interesting at all to you!

* ha ha only serious