Compilation warnings (clause cannot match) in mix-and-otp tutorial

I’m going through the Mix and OTP tutorial and when I compile the project I see many compilation warnings for what appear to be redundant pattern-match clauses.

$ mix new kv --module KV
$ cd kv
$ mix compile
Compiling 1 file (.ex)
Generated kv app
warning: this clause cannot match because a previous clause at line 1 always matches
  lib/list/chars.ex:1

warning: this clause cannot match because a previous clause at line 1 always matches
  lib/list/chars.ex:1

warning: this clause cannot match because a previous clause at line 6 always matches
  lib/inspect.ex:6

77 warning in total, though many are duplicates. Because I’m new to Elixir, I’d like to understand this before continuing. Specifically, I’m wondering:

• Where (if anywhere) can I find the files it’s complaining about (e.g. lib/list/chars.ex)?
  • What (if anything) should I do to address these warnings?
  • Is this something I should report an issue for?

The guide lists the following version requirements:

• Elixir 1.9.0 onwards
  • Erlang/OTP 20 onwards

I’m using Elixir 1.9.1 and Erlang/OTP 22

Erlang/OTP 22 [erts-10.4.3] [source] [64-bit] [smp:8:8] [ds:8:8:10] [async-threads:1] [hipe]

Elixir 1.9.1 (compiled with Erlang/OTP 22)

I’m running on NixOS, in case that’s relevant.

I’ve never seen those warnings in that context…

But the filenames mentioned in the warnings appear to be from the standard library.

But perhaps @DianaOlympos or @hauleth can help you, both of them use Nix as well as far as I can remember.

Yes it is. I am encountering the same issue. I haven’t dug what is the problem, but so far I just get used to ignoring it (everything works as expected). It is somehow related to the protocols, but I didn’t found the reason for that warnings yet.

It seems to be related to the ERL_LIBS environment variable.