end

defmodule TattooBackend.Accounts.Studio do
  schema "studios" do
    field :name, :string

belongs_to :account, Account

timestamps()
  end
end

Now I’m trying to write code for inserting Account and Studio to the database in one transaction. I’m using Ecto.Multi for doing that. My code looks like this:

multi = Multi.new |>
Multi.insert(:account, Account.changeset(%Account{}, %{email: "test@email.com", password: "password", password_confirmation: "password"})) |>
Multi.run(:studio, fn %{account: account} ->
  studio_changeset = Studio.changeset(%Studio{}, %{name: "test", account_id: account.id})
  Repo.insert(studio_changeset)
end)

Repo.transaction(multi)

This code works perfectly fine, but I’m wondering if there is any place to make it better. I’m still pretty new to Elixir so I want to know if something can be done in better way. Is using Ecto.Multi the only one way of doing it? Maybe this can be done in another way?

I have not tried, but if you are interested in trying a different way you could dig through the code and see if there’s an easy way to manually control the BEGIN and COMMIT I suppose.

I’m wondering if there is any way of doing that using Ecto put_assoc or cast_assoc.

Mat,

It should work with cast_assoc. You put the studio as a child in the params for account. Like

%{
  email: "test@email.com", password: "password", password_confirmation: "password",
  studio: %{name: "test"}
}

And you have to add the cast_assoc into your Account.changeset function.

Then it is only one Multi.insert. I am not sure if you just do an Repo.insert if it still run as a transaction, but I would guess it will.

1 Like

Yes you can.

Use cast_assoc into changeset of your account to assign account_id for the new studio.

1 Like

@vlad.grb @marcuslankenau I’ve added to my Account changeset cast_assoc so it looks like this:

defmodule TattooBackend.Accounts.Account do
  schema "accounts" do
    field :email, :string
    field :crypted_password, :string