Data type question

Hi all,
I’m fairly new to Elixir, and really loving it. But, I’ve come across something I don’t really understand, and can’t seem to find the right query to Google for and answer.

I’m looking at some code that returns something in the form of ["The answer is" | 42]. What, exactly, is the type of this value? It kinda looks like a list, but List functions tend to fail:

List.last(["The answer is " | 42])
** (FunctionClauseError) no function clause matching in List.last/1
(elixir) lib/list.ex:238: List.last(42)

What am I dealing with here?

Thanks in advance…

1 Like

This kind of structure is known as an ‘improper list’. It means that you have a linked list for which the last element is not []:

[] is an empty list.
[1] is syntactic sugar for [1 | []] (a list, with 1 as head and an empty list as tail.)
[1, 2] is syntactic sugar for [1 | [2 | []]] and so on.

[x | 10] is something that can be written and is syntactically allowed. However, as most of the features/functions in Elixir/Erlang expect lists to always end with an [] (which usually is the base case in a recursive function), there are many functions that will error when given an improper list.

Improper list do not have many uses; I myself have previously asked about why this construct actually exists in Erlang, but I have not found a satisfying answer so far (Most people expect it was ‘just something that got carried over’ from Lisp; it is harder to restrict the syntax for lists than it is to simply allow this weird, not very useful construct).

2 Likes

More specifically the improper list is being used as an iolist. Look at the IO module formore information. It’s a way of concatenating binary data together so you don’t have to reallocate and copy.

1 Like

Ah! I did not know that.

Looking up in the source, you can indeed find some examples here (io.ex, line 467 and on)

Why improper lists are used here over proper lists is a mystery to me, though.