Define multiple modules in macro, only last one gets created

I have a macro that serves as a wrapper around the definition of two modules.

defmacro transformers_for(fields) do
  quote do
     defmodule Incoming do
  end
  for field <- unquote(fields) do
     #....define incoming module 
  end
  quote do
     end
  end

quote do
     defmodule Outgoing do
  end
     #....define outgoing module 
  end
  quote do
     end
  end
end

I am fairly new to Elixir macros, not entirely sure if this is the correct way, but it compiles. However, only the final (Outgoing) module gets defined after expanding the macro and Incoming never seems to materialise. Is this expected behaviour? How can I fix this?

Macros are like functions in the sense that they receive data and must return data. In other words, every quote expression you define MUST be returned. If you return only the last quote, that’s the only quote seen by the caller and the only quote that will be expanded. Try putting every quote in a variable and then returning a list of quotes at the end.

Also I would be careful with defining multiple modules with a single macro. I think in all of those years writing Elixir code, I remember only once writing a macro that defines multiple modules and the number of modules were 2. There is likely a solution out there that relies less on code generation.

Thanks, that makes sense. But if that is the case, why does my code correctly define the final module? Shouldn’t it error out because only a quoted end gets returned?

I immediately accept your assumption there is a different solution, and I did look for it, but haven’t found it. To give you a bit of context, I am building an API gateway (based on Rackla) that needs to do some transformations of data passing trough in each direction. I am using a presenter module called Remodel (stavro/remodel) which necessitates the creation of separate modules for each direction.