[diary] A Year(++) With Elixir Building Drab

or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Give Elixir a Try

In the last November I’ve posted here the first mention about Drab library. Let’s do some annual recap then :slight_smile: I am putting it in the lounge, as it will be more on the history and my impressions about Elixir and the community.

Dark Age

Before being a humble alchemist, I’ve spent few years building Rails apps. I like Ruby, I like Rails: when you have some experience, you may create great applications with ease and fun. But, while building an app for my current employer (an app to take over my position, as I am a kind of administrator/dba), I’ve realized that there is a stuff, which is very hard to archive with the standard html/ajax architecture. In details, it was a part of an app, which runs long-running tasks in a background, step by step, with checking a step status and generated data, and user interaction (or not, if not needed), between the steps.

Finally, I’ve made this software, but I’ve realized that the effort I’ve spent on building communication between the interface and the backend was enormous. And ridiculous. Especially the part, when the background process finished the step and should communicate it to the browser. And the background must wait for the user’s answer. Hell.

This is why I wanted to build a software to communicate from the server back to the browser. When Rails 5 comes with websockets, I’ve even started to build Drab-like thingy in Rails, but I’ve quickly realized that I will drown in threads, processes, etc. I wanted to launch a thread/procces to each event coming from the client (just like the modern Drab does) and allow it to access the UI. I gave up.

Enlightenment Age