Ecto Changeset and Primary key ID being skipped

Hello, I am new to Ecto and am running into a scenario I haven’t encountered.

I have a User Ecto Schema that belongs_to an Organization. I have a unique_constraint set on the User's email field. Here is the gist of what I am doing:

defmodule MyApp.User do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

schema "users" do
    field :email, :string
    belongs_to :organization, MyApp.Organization
  end

@doc false
  def changeset(user, attrs) do
    user
    |> cast(attrs, [:email, :password, :organization_id])
    |> cast_assoc(:organization)
  end

end

defmodule MyApp.Organization do
  use Ecto.Schema
  import Ecto.Changeset

schema "organizations" do
    field :name, :string
    field :subdomain, :string
    has_many :users, MyApp.User
  end

@doc false
  def changeset(org, attrs) do
    user
    |> cast(attrs, [:name, :subdomain])
    |> unique_constraint(:subdomain)
  end

end

If I go to my UI and try to create a record with an existing email or organization subdomain I get an invalid changeset and my form is re-rendered. But then if I correct the email and resubmit the form it get inserted, but it skips the next primary key for the users and organizations tables. For example if the last user has an ID of 5 and the validation fails the user is inserted with the ID of 7 - skipping 6.

I am sure I’m doing something inconsistent, but any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Unfortunately, You cannot guarantee ids are going to be continuous.

Not sure what you need help with – generating continuous IDs in the DB (which you have no real control over) or want to correct your changeset / form somehow?

You didn’t specify which DB, but this is definitely a known behavior for Postgresql.

The cause has two parts:

• the unique_constraint, which works by handling the error an attempted INSERT of a duplicate raises
  • the database’s ID generation (in PG, it’s sequences)