Ecto reversed foreign key

Hello elixir folks, I am new in elixir programming and I am trying to migrate two databases with a foreign key in both tables but it doesn’t seem to work ??

def change do
    create table(:users) do
    add :username, :string
    add :email, :string
    add :name, :string
    add :password, :string
    add :address, :string

timestamps()
    end

alter table("users") do
          add :organization, references(:organization)
    end

end
  def change do
    create table(:organization) do
      add :org_key, :string

timestamps()
    end
    create unique_index(:organization, [:org_key])

alter table("organization") do
            add :creator, references(:users)

end
  end

By default Ecto is going to use the singular name of the table with _id appended for a FK.

If you want to use different column names I would check out the documentation for references/2 Ecto.Migration — Ecto SQL v3.6.1

The migrations can’t be done, because every table depends on the another, i am trying to implement bidirectionally foreign key and idea??

Ah, you may have to disable the transactions. Try adding this @disable_ddl_transaction true at the top of your migration module

Not working , I am getting “(Postgrex.Error) ERROR 42P01 (undefined_table) relation “users” does not exist” error

One or the other of these migrations will need to be split into two parts - the table being referenced needs to exist before the foreign key can be added.

Something like:

• create users, don’t add the foreign key
  • create organizations with a foreign key to users
  • add a foreign key from users to organizations
2 Likes

I tried it, the last step when I add a foreign key from users to organizations the migration doesn’t apply

If it’s failing with the undefined_table error mentioned in your previous message, that means the first step (creating the users table) did not work.