Elixir async vs JavaScript async

I’m new to concurrency models and multi-threading since the only backend work I’ve done is with JavaScript.

The limit of my experience of working with anything close to concurrency is only JavaScript async behavior which seems to only be strong with IO type operations. If something that isn’t IO happens, then the computer blocks everything else.

Can Elixir do things that aren’t IO concurrently?

I’d love to see a comparison of Elixir vs Nodejs’s “async”/concurrent abilities and what the best use cases for each are.

1 Like

Yes! The BEAM concurrency model works regardless of what work is to be done*[1].

The BEAM VM uses preemptive scheduling meaning that it will try to let all processes execute their work evenly and swap them out after they’ve done a number of units of work. These units are called reductions and by default a process gets swapped out after it has done 2000 reductions.

This is why latency is very even in BEAM languages and that some requests won’t starve other requests and block all the scheduling threads.

In general the BEAM concurrency model is best if you want to be “fair” to all your processes. It gives very stable and robust results.

I am obviously a bit biased but I don’t think there is a comparison here. The BEAM’s concurrency is concurrency done right. It performs better (as in schedules the work better) and is easier to use than nodes model. BEAM also works on all cores instead of being single-threaded.

That said, other concurrency models are optimised for through-put rather than latency (I’m not sure about where node is here) and if you need maximum through-put and can live with having bad latency on a percentage of the requests then you may want to use other concurrency models which doesn’t have the overhead of the scheduling.