Elixir from java

Hello everyone, Is it possible and if so can someone explain how could I do something in the lines of having a .beam or .exs file and use functions from that file in a java application?
I’m new to Elixir but I’m curious if there’s a way to achieve this with the Jinterface (or other method but right know I’ve only come up with the Jinterface), I tried to read the erlangs Jinterface documentation but there’s some stuff I don’t understand yet, but I’d like to be able to try this specific thing anyway.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Hi,

With Jinterface your Erlang and Java sub-systems will run as separate nodes in a distributed erlang cluster. A detailed description on how to connect and do an RPC call are included here: http://erlang.org/doc/apps/jinterface/jinterface_users_guide.html#id58082.

To get a feel of how RPC would work in a distributed Erlang, you can try the following:

Terminal #1 (connect only after starting both sessions):

~ ❯❯❯ iex --name alice@127.0.0.1
iex(alice@127.0.01)1> Node.connect :"bob@127.0.0.1"
true
iex(alice@127.0.0.1)2> Node.list [:known]
[:"alice@127.0.0.1", :"bob@127.0.0.1"]
iex(alice@127.0.0.1)3> :rpc.call(:"bob@127.0.0.1", Node, :self, [])
:"bob@127.0.0.1"

Terminal #2:

~ ❯❯❯ iex --name bob@127.0.0.1
iex(bob@127.0.0.1)1> Node.list [:known]
[:"bob@127.0.0.1", :"alice@127.0.0.1"]

The function Node.self/0 is called from node alice and executed in node bob.

When using Jinterface, the Java application will just be one of the nodes in the cluster.

1 Like

I see, what if I wanted to have a java application start a BEAM process and use functions from it? Without having to do things manually from the elixir side, like for example, having a class in java that starts up said process and calls an Elixir “sort” function on a list?

You certainly can start the Elixir/Erlang application from Java using Runtime.exec() (or the more recent ProcessBuilder), and then connect to it via the Distributed Erlang JInterface API.