Extremely beginner questions about using Postgres/Ecto

Hello! I feel a bit embarassed posting here because I’m an amateur getting into web development as a hobby so my knowledge is very shallow (I feel like this kind of thing is more common with game development since more people are interested in game dev as a hobby, whereas with web dev I feel like everyone is a professional…)

I just went through all of Pragmatic Studio’s Elixir & OTP course and it was very easy to follow. I’ve started their Phoenix LiveView course but so far it feels different from the Elixir one, where everything was explained from the very beginning; it feels more something for people who were already using Phoenix and want to learn LiveView specifically.

I have a hobby project I want to develop with Phoenix, but my main problem is I’ve never worked with databases before. I’m confused about how working with the database locally and then deploying it would work. Because I know that my Postgres database is in the /usr/local/var/postgres folder, which isn’t my project folder. When I define my schema with Ecto and it creates the tables in that dev/local database, how do I then deploy that to production?

I see that the config/dev.exs file has the database info for the local database, so I suppose I’ll have a separate config for the production database. Does that mean I need to first create and host a database somewhere, then put the database connection info on that prod config somewhere, and then when I deploy Ecto will configure that database for me? But how would this work for future deploys after the first one, when the prod database already has data in it? If I change my schema and do a migration in dev, when/how would that migration happen in prod? It’s very confusing to me.