Forms with variable number of inputs

Hello. I’m new into elixir/phoenix and I love it. I’m still learning and can’t figure how to solve this problem about associations in ecto (mysql).

I’m working on something like this:

Category has_many Propertyname many_to_many Property.
Product many_to_many Property

Example category: drinks->brand->[“coca cola”, “pepsi”]. To create a new product (with some specific properties) under this category, in order to generate a variable number of select inputs (one for each Propertyname with some Properties as options), I feed the form with this function:

def list_category_properties(category_id) do
propertynames = for propertyname <- Repo.preload(get_category!(category_id), :propertynames).propertynames do
%{"propertyname_field"=>"propertyname_" <> Integer.to_string(propertyname.id), "propertyname" => propertyname.name, "properties" => for property <- Repo.preload(get_propertyname!(propertyname.id), :properties).properties do
    {property.name, property.id}
end
    }
end
end

Example:
properties = [
%{
"properties" => [{"Red", 3}, {"Green", 4}],
"propertyname" => "Color",
"propertyname_field" => "propertyname_1"
}
%{
"properties" => [{"Big", 5}, {"Small", 6}],
"propertyname" => "Size",
"propertyname_field" => "propertyname_2"
}
]

For generating the inputs, in the form I use:

<%= for propertyname <- @properties do %>
    <p>
	<%= label f, propertyname["propertyname"] %>
	<%= select f, String.to_atom(propertyname["propertyname_field"]), propertyname["properties"] %>
    </p>
    <br/>
    <br/>
<% end %>

So when the form is submitted the attr’s in the changeset could be:

%{
"propertyname_1" => "3",
"propertyname_2" => "6",
}