Generating 5,000+ random strings, improving performance by an order of magnitude, but can it be better?

I’m currently building an app where I’ll be creating random discount codes in bulk. Probably up to 5,000 at a time.

The business rules are the discount codes should be 19 characters long and should be broken up in groups of 4 characters like this XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX and they should only be composed of upper case letters and numbers.

Ideally, the entire charset should be CDEFGHJKLMNPQRTUVWXYZ23679. The missing letters and numbers are to avoid situations where a user might not quickly be able to tell if it’s a 0 or O, 5 or S, etc… So I removed a bunch of problem characters.

I’m still quite new to Elixir but a first shot implementation I came up with (with some Googling, etc.) was this:

def random_code() do
    charset = "CDEFGHJKLMNPQRTUVWXYZ23679" |> String.split("", trim: true)

random_chars = Enum.reduce((0..16), [], fn (_i, acc) ->
      [Enum.random(charset) | acc]
    end) |> Enum.join("")

group_a = String.slice(random_chars, 1..4)
    group_b = String.slice(random_chars, 5..8)
    group_c = String.slice(random_chars, 9..12)
    group_d = String.slice(random_chars, 13..16)

"#{group_a}-#{group_b}-#{group_c}-#{group_d}"
   end

On an i5 3.2ghz quad core running in Docker, that code was able to generate 5,000 codes in about 730ms (no DB writes). Not too shabby, but I’m not just looking to complete my app and ship it. I want to really learn Elixir and Erlang along the way, so I took some time looking up alternative solutions.

Here’s another implementation that was roughly 10x faster, which generated 5,000 codes in 70ms:

defp generate_strong_random_string(length, case \\ :upper) do
    # TODO: limit this to charset: CDEFGHJKLMNPQRTUVWXYZ23679
    :crypto.strong_rand_bytes(length)
    |> Base.encode32(case: case)
    |> binary_part(0, length)
  end

def generate_random_discount_code() do
    group_a = generate_strong_random_string(4)