GenServer Call timeout when connected in circle

Hi,

I want to implement something like this. Lets say I have 10 genserver nodes connected in the circle.
How are they connected ? Every genserver contains “PID” of its successor genserver.
Every genserver contains in the state some random “KEYS” as well. Lets say I start the entire system.
Now all the 10 genservers are up and running. Now I select one genserver and ask for the key using “Genserver.call” [I do this from iex shell] . The current genserver can contain the key or not. If it does not contain the key then the GenServer makes a call on the successor genserver using “GenServer.call”. This is how the cycle goes. Once the keys is found the answer is returned.

But my GenServer.call leads to a timeout. Let’s say I increase the timeout time for 10 nodes. But what if my system contains “1000000” nodes.

How to solve this problem ? I am very new to elixir.

Welcome to Elixir! I’m glad to see you’re jumping in and looking at GenServers. Unfortunately, the way you’re using them here has a few issues, one of which you’re running into now (another is that you’re copying the data N times).

Can you describe at a high level what you want to achieve? It sort of sounds like you want a sharded Key / Value store, is that right?

2 Likes

Yes, I want to create a distributed key/value store. The keys are distributed among ‘N’ genservers.

Is this for your learning purposes or is this for a production situation? If you’re trying to build something for production I’d just use Cachex, it has a distributed mode.

If this is for learning purposes, then let’s dig into what’s going on here a bit. First, can you provide some code? While daisy chaining GenServers isn’t a great approach, it still shouldn’t timeout with just 10. I wonder if you’re creating a deadlock somewhere.

3 Likes