Handing events between parent LiveView and child LiveComponent(s)

Hi folks,

I just started playing with LiveView and not sure how to proceed with the following issue:

I have a parent LiveView module. That module renders a form template. That template has a simple button with emitted event, like so:

<%= form_for :blank, "#", [phx_submit: :add_new_company] %>
  <%= submit "Add" %>
</form>

and, in the same template, I render a dynamic list of LiveComponents:

<%= for company <- @companies do %>
  <%= live_component @socket, MyApp.CompanyComponent, id: @id, company: company %>
<% end %>

where @id is the id of a parent LiveView being assigned on mount/2 callback.

That event is handled by a corresponding handle_event/3. Inside that handler I add a new company to a list of already existing companies. That part works and on each new button click the new company form is being rendered correctly. However, when I try to send an event from LiveComponent form, I’m getting no function clause matching in MyApp.CompanyView, which is the parent LiveView and not handle_event/3 defined on the component. After reading this portion of LiveComponent docs I feel like this is exactly what I’m already doing, however the event emitted my component is being routed to the parent LiveView and not to the underlying child component. Am I missing something?

I think you need to set a phx-target and DOM id per the section just above: Phoenix.LiveComponent — Phoenix LiveView v0.20.2

With form_for, you can set a DOM id by passing as: "company-#{@id}". Pass the same id to phx_target and it should call the handle_event of the component when you submit.

I’m surprised reusing a single ID for all CompanyComponent instances worked at all… I think normally you want that to be unique per entry (using e.g. id: company.id instead). The doc says: