Help understanding preload and queries in Ecto

Hello, I’m pretty new to Elixir and am having some confusion about how all of this Ecto stuff works. Say I have 2 models, Company and Employee.

defmodule Project.Employee do
  use Project.Web, :model

schema "employee" do
    field :name, :string
    belongs_to :company, Project.Company
  end
end
defmodule Project.Company do
  use Project.Web, :model

schema "company" do
    field: name, :string
    belongs_to :user, Project.User
    has_many :employees, Project.Employee  
  end

def preload_all(query) do
    from c in query, preload: [:user, :employees]
  end
end

and then in the Project.Company controller I have

def show(conn, %{"id" => company_id}) do
  current_user = Guardian.Plug.current_resource(conn)

company = current_user
    |> assoc(:companies)
    |> Company.preload_all
    |> Repo.get(company_id)
end

I got the general structure of all of this through a tutorial, and I’m finding that I don’t understand the preload and query logic as well as I thought. It seems that :user is being preloaded just fine, but :employees is not. Does anyone have any idea why, or can shed some wisdom on how it works? Here’s how I have it worked out in my head.

1. current_user is loaded from Guardian

2. assoc(:companies) returns a Ecto query that looks something like from Project.Company where user_id = {{current_user id}}

3. That query is then sent into Project.preload_all. preload_all returns another query that returns every Company for a user, with all of the :user and :candidate data loaded.

4. That query is sent to Repo.get(project_id) which runs that query and then matches the results with the company_id given, returning just that one Company.

But with what I have, the :employees data isn’t being loaded. Any help at all, including just correcting my knowledge of how this is working is appreciated. thanks!