Help with structuring an umbrella app /w Ecto, Phoenix, and Subdomains

Hi there,

I am working towards porting a Rails app over to Elixir / Phoenix. The site has two reasonably separate sets of functionality, with a few shared pieces of data/logic between the two.

Currently these separate pieces of functionality are routed to separately on the Rails app via subdomains, and share a database. The sub-projects do need to call across to each other to perform a limited set of actions/operations, but they are best kept separate as they have different purposes and authentication mechanisms.

I’d like to organize it as an umbrella project, and had a few additional hopes for a setup that would work. I was hoping someone could tell me if this is possible, and let me know how to set it up properly (I’m basically brand new to Elixir).

What I’m hoping will work is something like the following:

Umbrella Project (Myapp)
|
| —> Functionality A (Myapp.A)
|
| --> Functionality B (Myapp.B)
|
| --> Shared functionality (Myapp.Shared)
|
| --> Shared database repo (Myapp.Repo)

I’d like to somehow get phoenix working in such a way that:

• If mix phoenix.server is called from myapp/apps/a, I can develop the website for Functionality A on localhost:4000 (i.e. development only)
  • If mix phoenix.server is called from myapp/apps/b, I can develop the website for Functionality B on localhost:4000 (i.e. development only)
  • If mix phoenix.server is called from the umbrella root myapp (i.e. in production), it routes between Myapp.A and Myapp.B based on subdomain.

Is this possible? How would I go about configuring this?

3 Likes

Give a look on this guy. You can give the same look at the whole repo, is a very well organized umbrella project in my opinion. :slight_smile:

EDITED: the repo have the same situation, but every phoenix server have a mapping to its own port, and the default port is mapped to the master_proxy app.

3 Likes

Thank you! I’ll have a look :+1: