How can I infer values from a form field and copy them to other (embedded) fields?

Hello there,
I’m new to Elixir and I’m currently having trouble with:

I need to infer values from a form’s fields and put those values into a changeset. What makes it harder is that I’m using embedded schemas.

Let’s say I have an “Invoice Item” entity. The invoice item has country specific fields according to its emission country.

My schema ‘invoice_item’ is as follows (simplified):

schema "purchase_invoice_items" do
    field(:quantity, :integer)
    field(:unit_price, Money.Ecto.Type)

embeds_one(
      :purchase_invoice_item_country_fields,
      PurchaseInvoiceItemCountryFields,
      on_replace: :update
    )

belongs_to(:invoice, Invoice)
  end

In country fields, there are different fields according to countries’ specific tax system.

In my invoice_item changeset, I have changesets for updating and creation. These changesets call for specific country changesets to cast changes for the embedded entity country_fields:

def create_changeset(attrs, %Invoice{} = invoice, %Org{} = org) do
    %InvoiceItem{}
    |> cast(attrs, [:quantity, :unit_price, :provider_product_id])
    |> cast_creation_country_fields(invoice.country, attrs, org)
    |> put_change(:invoice_id, invoice.id)
    |> validate_required([
      :quantity,
      :unit_price,
      :invoice_id,
      :provider_product_id,
      :purchase_invoice_item_country_fields
    ])
    |> validate_number(:quantity, greater_than: 0)
    |> validate_invoice_status(invoice, "pending")
  end 

@doc false
  def update_changeset(%InvoiceItem{} = invoice_item, %Org{} = org, attrs) do
    invoice_item
    |> cast(attrs, [:quantity, :unit_price])
    |> cast_update_country_fields(
      Purchase.get_invoice!(invoice_item.invoice_id, org).country,
      attrs,
      org,
      invoice_item
    )
    |> validate_required([:quantity, :unit_price, :purchase_invoice_item_country_fields])
    |> validate_number(:quantity, greater_than: 0)