How can I use GenServer for external api request?

First of all. I have to say sorry that my question is not about code and might be vague.
But as I am studying GenServer and OTP section, one questions came up in my mind.
How can I use GenServer in my project?
In my application, I mostly use external api, such as Stripe and Twilio.
So I tried to use GenServer like this…

Client

def send_sms(phone_numbers, body, from_number, account, token) do
    GenServer.cast(__MODULE__, {:send_sms, phone_numbers, body, from_number, account, token})
  end

Server

def handle_cast({:send_sms, phone_numbers, body, from_number, account, token}, state) do
    Sms.send_sms(phone_numbers, body, from_number, account, token)
    {:noreply, state}
  end

But I don’t understand what the benefit is when I use GenServer here.
I want to get a response, so I have to use GenServer.call instead of cast.
what if I want to send 10000 sms using GenServer.call? GenServer,call is synchronous call and wait for response, is it correct using GenServer.call for this case?

I don’t think I fully understand a concept, benefit of using GenServer, and haveing trouble understanding it and adopting it for my use case.
Please help!

2 Likes

So in nutshell: GenServer is probably not something you want to use to make HTTP requests from your app.

Think of a GenServer as a process, which is - just like any other process - sequential in it’s nature. It does things one step at a time and only one thing inside GenServer happens at given time. It has also internal state that it maintains, and it can change it freely, and also maintains a queue of incoming messages.

When you do GenServer.cast, you put the message on top of that queue of incoming messages. When all other messages already in the queue are processed, your message will be processed. But your calling process will not get nor wait for any reply, it will continue it’s work immediatelly after sending message to GenServer.