How to avoid bottleneck when using GenServers?

The app I’m working on reads data from a Kafka topic, transforms it and writes to a different topic. There is a consumer process per partition of a topic, so there are multiple processes doing the reading.

Every consumer passes data to GenServers, like Validator (validates data, holds schema as its state) or Encryptor (keeps encryption key in its state).

I’m new to Elixir but it seems that if I have multiple consumers that all pass data to one Validator process, it will become a bottleneck. I’m sure this is a common problem so what is a recommended way to solve it?

Should I create a pool of Validators and Encryptors with something like a poolboy? Or maybe use a simpler pooling approach like one that the author of Redix suggests? Or is it better to use global ETS tables instead to keep schemas, encryption keys, etc. and access them from every consumer process?

I’m trying to keep complexity to a minimum, so I would rather avoid dependencies like poolboy.

Thanks!

1 Like

Maybe You can have a look at GenStage.

From the source repo.

GenStage is a specification for exchanging events between producers and consumers.

1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion!

Consumer process already handles the back-pressure problem (new messages are read only when previously read messages have been processed), so as far as I can understand GenStage will not help here. It seems to me that consumers will read a bunch of messages, pass them to Encryptor, for example, and will wait for a result, maybe it doesn’t even make sense to have multiple consumer processes if all the data will still go through one process anyway.

I considered putting things like validation schema and encryption keys in a consumer’s state while keeping the actual logic of validating and encryption in separate modules but such an architecture feels wrong for a number of reasons.