How to chain controller actions or DB inserts in Phoenix?

Sorry for the terrible title. I’m having a case of the “you don’t know what you don’t know” and am unsure if there is a way to get this done that I haven’t been able to find. Basically what I want to do is:

When calling the create action of my UserController, I want to trigger the create action in my TodoController to insert 3 new Todos in the database. So in other words, once a new user is created, I’d like to create “starting” data for them without first doing a check on the front end (I’m using React, if that matters) and then doing a POST after running client-side calculations. Maybe that’s the wrong terminology, or the wrong way to go about thinking that, but I’m pretty new to elixir and phoenix, and functional programming, so having your experienced insight will help me get things to click!

I hope this makes sense. Any help would be much appreciated!

1 Like

I made a post a few days ago that I think answers your question:

You could also try out put_assoc or cast_assoc maybe:
https://medium.com/coryodaniel/til-elixir-ecto-put-assoc-vs-cast-assoc-7c80f35f6e6

Unless I’m misunderstanding something I think this is exactly what Phoenix is not your application is all about. If the functionality for creating Todos wasn’t buried in the TodoController it would be much easier for UserController to create Todos.

Also

3 Likes

As @peerreynders hinted, the right way to think about this is not how to invoke some other controller action to complete user registration, but to place the concerns of what all should happen when creating a user inside of a well named module and function. Check out our Context guide for more details around this idea, but for your specific case, let’s imagine your user/session controller called into something like this:

defmodule MyAppWeb.SessionController do
  def create(conn, %{"user" => user_params}) do
    case Accounts.register_user(user_params) do
      {:ok, user} ->