How to do a name calculator? Mine throws errors! (newbie)

Hi there Elixir guys and gals,

I’m new to Elixir, trying to build a name calculator for exercise.

It should let you type in a name and give you back a number! So, “a” is represented by 1, “b” by 2, but it only counts up to 9 so that “j” is also represented by 1, ending with “z” as 8. Those numbers of the respective letters will be added and the result is the response the user should get.

So I tried it like that:

defmodule NameCalc do

def add(x) do
    letterlist = String.graphemes("#{x}")
    for n <- letterlist, do: %{"a" => 1, "b" => 2, "c" => 3, "d" => 4, "e" => 5, "f" => 6, "g" => 7,
  "h" => 8, "i" => 9, "j" => 1, "k" => 2, "l" => 3, "m" => 4, "n" => 5,
  "o" => 6, "p" => 7, "q" => 8, "r" => 9, "s" => 1, "t" => 2, "u" => 3,
  "v" => 4, "w" => 5, "x" => 6, "y" => 7, "z" => 8}[n]
    |> Sum.sum
  end
end

defmodule Sum do
  def sum ([]) do
  end
  def sum([h | t]) do
    h + sum(t)
  end
end

It seems like I’m doing something (several things) completely wrong!

It yells at me:

undefined function x/0

I’m sure this isn’t the only mistake in my file?

Where are my mistakes? Thx everybody.

V. Jim Deeno

You do not have a binding or call of name anywhere in your posted code at all? o.O

I have no clue how you’d be getting that error at all based on the code you supplied.

Also, instead of Summe.sum don’t you mean Sum.sum?

Also I’d probably just do (single-long-line because I’m testing in iex, reformat as you wish ^.^;):

(fn(name) -> name |> String.downcase() |> String.graphemes() |> Enum.map(fn(<<c::utf8>>) -> rem(c-?a, 9)+1 end) |> Enum.sum() end).("myname")
1 Like

I was a bit hasty there, made some edits without corresponding readjustments! Sorry for the confusions!

So it’s not name, it’s x correspondingly!
And: yes it’s Sum.sum