How to execute Elixir code on the shell which is in JSON?

Hey,I would like to execute elixir code on the shell which is in JSON format ,also some part of the code should be executed by iex.Can you help me with this as I am new to elixir?

Is youre elixir code wrapped in JSON or is your shell some JSON thing or what exactly do you try to describe here?

When your code is wrapped into a module you can simply compile and load it in IEx using c/1 and l/1 helpers. Then you can use your module as any other.

1 Like

Uhhh, what? Elixir code does not serialize to JSON at any time I’ve ever seen? o.O

Could you describe what you are trying to accomplish instead of the methods of which you are trying to accomplish it? :slight_smile:
http://xyproblem.info/

4 Likes

Firstly,Thank for your effort.
So here it is,
I have to read a json file which has executable code in elixir in one of its key value pairs .so,I would like to know if I can do it in Elixir and how I can go about it?

My elixir code is wrapped in a json file

For ex:
{
“Key”:”value”
“Key”:”IO.puts(“hello”)
}

Somethinng like this

If You have a string You want to convert to a command, You can use Code.eval_string on it.

iex> cmd = "Process.list()"
iex> Code.eval_string cmd
{[#PID<0.0.0>, #PID<0.1.0>, #PID<0.2.0>, #PID<0.3.0>, #PID<0.6.0>, #PID<0.32.0>,
  #PID<0.33.0>, #PID<0.35.0>, #PID<0.36.0>, #PID<0.37.0>, #PID<0.38.0>,
  #PID<0.40.0>, #PID<0.41.0>, #PID<0.42.0>, #PID<0.43.0>, #PID<0.44.0>,
  #PID<0.45.0>, #PID<0.46.0>, #PID<0.47.0>, #PID<0.48.0>, #PID<0.49.0>,
  #PID<0.50.0>, #PID<0.51.0>, #PID<0.52.0>, #PID<0.53.0>, #PID<0.54.0>,
  #PID<0.55.0>, #PID<0.59.0>, #PID<0.60.0>, #PID<0.61.0>, #PID<0.63.0>,
  #PID<0.66.0>, #PID<0.67.0>, #PID<0.68.0>, #PID<0.69.0>, #PID<0.70.0>,
  #PID<0.72.0>, #PID<0.73.0>, #PID<0.74.0>, #PID<0.75.0>, #PID<0.76.0>,
  #PID<0.91.0>, #PID<0.92.0>, #PID<0.93.0>, #PID<0.94.0>, #PID<0.95.0>,
  #PID<0.96.0>, #PID<0.124.0>, #PID<0.125.0>, ...], []}
iex> cmd = "IO.puts \"Hello\""