How to replicate a multi-domain Rails app?

Hey!

First poster here …

I have been building Rails applications while doing professional server management for the last ten years. Combining these two topics, I authored Efficient Rails DevOps, a book which is popular among Rails developers who want to provision their own servers to serve their Rails apps.

While in no way abandoning the Ruby/Rails world, I have been interested in functional programming (and especially Elixir) for some time and finally took the leap. I have been programming in various languages for the last 20 years but I still have not managed to fully wrap my head around functional programming in general — so I have decided to replicate my main Rails application (which powers my bootstrapped business) to learn Phoenix, learning Elixir in parallel.

My Rails app powers two domains (relativkreativ.at and efficientrailsdevops.com) because they share a lot of common functionality (mainly subscriber/customer management). When starting out, I had a separate API backend which managed subscribers and customers while two other apps (one for each domain) talked to this API via a gem which wrapped the API’s functionality. I abandoned this approach because it slowed development down and was quite a pain to manage.

Having a monlithic, everything-under-one-roof works surprisingly well for me as a single developer — I use router constraints based on the request’s host to decide what get rendered, having a separate relativkreativ/pages_controller and efficientrails/pages_controller. All of them use the same models (subscriber, customer, visitor).

I do not want to replicate my Rails app in Phoenix but do it the Phoenix/Elixir way instead. As I understand it, Elixir/Phoenix is against the monolithic approach but unfortunately, I have no idea where to start.

How would you build such an application with Phoenix?

• Put everything under one roof (as my Rails app does it)?
    Probably not, I guess.