How to transform this Ruby code into Elixir code

I am new to Elixir and to learn it I try to convert a Ruby application (Genetic Algorithm) in Elixir.
A typical part of this code is:

def week_trend(days, histogram)
  weeks              =  days/5
  week_nr           =  1
  while week_nr <=  weeks - 1
    week_trend      =  histogram[week_nr] - histogram[week_nr - 1] # <-- This is line 5
    week_nr         += 1
  end
end

The main problem for me is line 5

Thanks in advance

1 Like

First a warning, I am not a Ruby programmer, barely ever touched it, I find it a horrid language that mutates all willy-nilly with monkey-patching (to use a python term) running utterly rampant in every ruby project Iā€™ve seen, so following thatā€¦ :slight_smile:

Greetings, first of all this forum uses Discourse as its hosting software, thus it supports github-like markdown, so your code block could appear like this by surrounding it with ``` fences. :slight_smile:

def week_trend(days, histogram)
  weeks = days/5
  week_nr = 1
  while week_nr <= weeks - 1
   week_trend = histogram[week_nr] - histogram[week_nr - 1]
   week_nr += 1
  end
end

And since Elixir is immutable the problem will need to be reformed a touch, so letā€™s start. :slight_smile:

def week_trend(days, histogram) do
  weeks = round(days/5)
  week_nr = 1
  # snip
end