In a Plug.Static, what does the atom :namefotheapp resolve to?

Hello all,

I am very new to Elixir and currently (having a great time) refactoring one of my app’s simpler back-end to Phoenix.

For context: my app is dockerized. Inside the container, the architecture is simply:
/app/ |
| – lib/
| – priv/
| – test/
| – uploads/

And my app is called, well, “app” (a mistake in hindsight, it’s very annoying to look at the architecture of my folders).

After failing few days prior, today I tried and succeeded to serve images from uploads/.
I tried what the Plug docs suggested :

#lib/app_web/endpoint.ex
plug(Plug.Static,
  at: "/uploads",
)

When that didn’t work and after a couple hours, I just put in the full path of the uploads folder as it is in my docker, and it works :

#lib/app_web/endpoint.ex
  plug(Plug.Static,
    at: "/uploads",
  )

I would rather not hard code it, in case I move the server around.

Here are my questions :

• From that plug, what dos {:app, "uploads/"} resolve to ? I have learned that an atom is a variable whose name is also its value. As such, I thought it would be “app/uploads/”, starting from /
  • In the future, how can I print/ debug or search such things for myself ? What is the proper term to use, instead of “the :nameofmyapp atom” (if there even is such a term)

Thank you for your time,

The :from atom is the fs directory where files are served from. If it is a tuple, it will use the working directory of the application name, in this case :app.

https://hexdocs.pm/plug/Plug.Static.html

For your second question, you usually can find the documentation by searching the plug name and the atom option that you are not familiar with.

Atoms are not variables, the are considered constant values and are used as identifier keys in data structures.