live_file_input doesn't render after upgrading to Phoenix 1.7.10

Hi,

I’m new to Elixir, Phoenix & LiveView and I have the following issue:

My original .html.leex file looked like this:

<form id="upload-form" phx-submit="save" phx-change="validate">

<%= live_file_input @uploads.invoice_data %>

<button type="submit">Upload</button>
</form>

…and it rendered properly. Then I upgraded Phoenix to version 1.7.10 and, after the upgrade, I got this error:

** (ArgumentError) assign/3 expects a socket from Phoenix.LiveView/Phoenix.LiveComponent  or an assigns map from Phoenix.Component as first argument, got: %{__given__: %{accept: ".xls"}, accept: ".xls"}You passed an assigns map that does not have the relevant change tracking information. This typically means you are calling a function component by hand instead of using the HEEx template syntax. If you are using HEEx, make sure you are calling a component using:

<.component attribute={value} />

…so I changed the .leex file as requested:

<. live_file_input upload={@uploads.invoice_data} />

<button type="submit">Generate invoice</button>
</form>

…but now the live_file_input component is rendered as simple text instead of an input.

How can I fix it?

Thanks!

There seems to be a space between the dot and your component name.
Change it to

<.live_file_input … />
1 Like

Nice catch but it still doesn’t render properly, even without the space.

It behaves like the renderer doesn’t recognize the <. /> syntax. See below the resulting form in HTML

&lt;.live_file_input upload={@uploads.invoice_data} /&gt;

<button type="submit">Generate invoice</button>
</form>

Did you also rename the file to use .heex as extension?

Good point!

Short version: I changed the leex o heex and now it renders correctly. Thanks!

Long version: