Message Handler Pattern

So to set the scene, i am new to Elixir and this might be something i can easily search for but i could not find anything on the topic.

In Python i use a pattern of decorators and register them as handlers and then run a consumer for some message queue and route the messages to the specific handlers, it looks something like this:

app = Consumer()

@app.subscribe("my.topic")
    def handle_message(topic, data):
        # do something with the data

Inside the Consumer class a dict is built out that looks something like this:

handlers = {
        "my.topic": [function<>, function<>]
    }

When a message is received it looks for a matching topic and executes all the functions that are subscribed to this topic. It is similar to a really simple URL router for a web framework Is this type of pattern possible in Elixir? Is there a better way that fits into the Elixir paradigm?

I am open to suggestions, its not a work thing, i am learning Elixir in my own time still and trying to implement solutions that i have written in Python and JS in Elixir.

I am not aware in such a pattern in Elixir. Here, pubsub generally involves processes, so if you want a common handler for multiple topics you would start a process, then subscribe to the topics, and then you process would be sent messages that you can handle.

Otherwise multiple processes could subscribe to a specific topic of their choice.

You always have to define explicitely where (in which process) the messages are handled, because it is a process that is subscribed, not a function.

That being said it could be easy to write a library that would manage its own processes and just declare module/function as handlers, but I am not sure wether it would be useful.

It‘s also not really clear if this is supposed to involve processes in the first place. E.g. telemetry allows for registering listeners to events, where handlers are executed inline.

1 Like

I belive your question has an XY problem.