Anyone interested in working on a Minecraft Pocket Edition Server?

Hi there,

Anyone interested in working on a hobby project to build a Minecraft PE server? I am relatively new to Elixir, but from what I understand about its core functions, I think it would be well suited to working as a server for Minecraft PE.

I figure a project like this might help me understand the game (my kids can’t get enough of) a little better as well as improve my Elixir skills. If you have experience with sending and receiving UDP packets with Elixir even better…

I did some quick tests last night with receiving the broadcast from clients that are looking for servers and that got me excitited… This is a hobby project with no time constraints in mind and no dedicated time for it, just something to tinker on…

I couldn’t find any other pocket edition servers written in elixir, I did find some vague references to some written in erlang,

Here is a link to the best reference for the Pocket Minecraft Protocol I could find - there might be others.

Pocket Minecraft Protocol - wiki.vg]

Cheers…

6 Likes

Hi,

I would really love to join, but I am afraid that you’re probably searching for more experienced Elixir programmers.

Best,
Tomaz

1 Like

Hey Tomaz…

I am probably searching for more experience elixir programmers purely based on my entry level status in the world of elixir :slight_smile:

I have only recently started learning elixir and its more of a learning exercise rather (for now) rather than having an specific expectations…

Do you have any network programming experience? As this is an area I don’t know much about… but I’m sure I can figure out.

1 Like

I actually built a Minecraft (original, the pocket edition one really badly needs to die off) server in Erlang years ago. It ran really well, though I needed to slave out my terrain generation functions to C++ for speed reasons, plus having every ‘entity’ be a process was so nice. ^.^