My server has constant background traffic even if nothing is accessing it. What is it and is it necessary?

Hello, I am relatively new to elixir and phoenix and already built a simple website with database integration.

But I noticed that a running phoenix server constantly has in- and outbound network traffic. (Around 700-800 kb/s up and 360-420 kb/s down) Is this normal behavior or is something like telemetry running in the background doing this? And can I disable the component that is causing the traffic if it isn’t necessary for running the website.

I basically just followed these two guides: Up and Running and Deploying with Releases and ran it with Docker via this Dockerfile:

FROM alpine:3.16

# install elixir
RUN apk add --no-cache elixir

RUN mix local.hex phx_new --force

WORKDIR /code
COPY mix.exs /code/mix.exs

ENV MIX_ENV="prod"
# get dependencies
RUN mix local.rebar --force && \
	mix deps.get --only prod

COPY .	/code

# compile
RUN mix compile
# compile assets
RUN mix phx.digest && \
	mix assets.deploy
# compile release
RUN mix phx.gen.release && \
	mix release

ENV SECRET_KEY_BASE="secret-key"
ENV DATABASE_URL="postgres://postgres:postgres@ip-addr/test_db"
CMD ["_build/prod/rel/test/bin/server"]

Could this traffic come from connection to PostgreSQL?

1 Like

Hi @FranekStratovarius to address this directly:

There is no telemetry or “phoning home” in any part of the Phoenix stack.

How are you measuring traffic? At the base level you’re going to likely have health checks from your load balancer and keep alive packets to postgres. Beyond that I’d start by looking at your logs and seeing if in fact you have some low level HTTP traffic for some reason.

3 Likes

Thank you for your answers. First off, i have a connection to a PostgreSQL database but why would that need constant traffic? The portainer monitoring shows increasing accumulated traffic every second. That is a bit much for health checks or keep alive packages…