Need guidance/suggestions for optimizing speed of set intersections

Hi Friends,
I am new to Elixir & Erlang but have been reading up on it for a while now and building small projects on the side. I have some experience with Akka framework in Scala so I have appreciation for the Actor model in OTP.

I am prototyping an Ad Server in Elixir at work and am wondering if anyone has suggestions on how I could achieve fast set intersections.

One of things I have to do in my server is find an intersection of close to 1000 integer sets for each incoming request. Each of the sets has about 10k items. The existing service that we have is written in Scala and it uses BitSet to model these sets. I could not find a BitSet implementation in Elixir or Erlang that supported intersections so I settled for MapSet to model my integer sets.

I benchmarked the MapSet intersection function with the Set intersection function in Scala and also did a benchmark of the BitSet intersection in Scala. Following are the results to do 1000 intersections for each of the above implementations. Also I have constructed the sets such that they have 5000 items in common. Note that following times are for doing each intersection

Elixir MapSet
1.2 millisecond

Scala Set
0.4 millisecond

Scala BitSet
0.1 millisecond

So the Elixir implementation is not exactly slow but I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on making this part of my service faster ?

Following is the elixir sample code I used.
`
def intersection_benchmark do
mset1 = 1…10000 |> Enum.into(MapSet.new)
mset2 = 5000…15000 |> Enum.into(MapSet.new)

test_fun = fn ->
  1..1000 |> Enum.each(fn _ ->
    MapSet.intersection(mset1,mset2)
  end)
end

:timer.tc(fn -> test_fun.() end)

end`

My apologies for not being able to format the code snippet above correctly :frowning: