Newbie question regarding Pattern Matching (in Programming Phoenix 1.4)

Hi,

I’m new to Elixir\Phoenix, and am currently working my way through the Programming Phoenix book.

Could someone please help me understand the following line of code: ‘{:error, %Ecto.Changeset{} = changeset} ->’, the complete function is below.

I get that the Accounts.create_user(…) is returning a tuple, and the CASE is matching the tuple, to either {:ok, user} or {:error, %Ecto.Changeset{} = changeset}.

But I don’t get why the empty structure ‘%Ecto.Changeset{}’, part of the second tuple. Could we have written: ‘{:error, changes}’. Most examples I’ve seen have a var in left hand side, i.e. %Ecto.Changeset{var: var} = changeset, and so I understand we are able to use assigned ‘var’ in our function, but I don’t know why the empty struct. Is it to ensure the second arg is an %Ecto.Changeset{}, or is there more?

def create(conn, %{"user" => user_params}) do
    case Accounts.create_user(user_params) do
      {:ok, user} ->
        conn
        |> put_flash(:info, "User: #{user.name} successfully created")
        |> redirect(to: Routes.user_path(conn, :index))

**{:error, %Ecto.Changeset{} = changeset} ->**
        render conn, "new.html", changeset: changeset
    end
  end

Kind Regards,

Jas

Yep. Nope. Here’s an example:

defmodule Dog do
  defstruct [:name, :age] 
end

defmodule My do
  def go(%Dog{}), do: IO.puts "matched a Dog struct"
  def go(%{}), do: IO.puts "matched a map"
  def go(_), do: IO.puts "matched something else"

def test do
    My.go(%{a: 1, b: 2})
    My.go(%Dog{name: "Ralph", age: 3})
    My.go(10)
  end
end

In iex:

~/elixir_programs$ iex a.exs
Erlang/OTP 20 [erts-9.3] [source] [64-bit] [smp:4:4] [ds:4:4:10] [async-threads:10] [hipe] [kernel-poll:false]
Interactive Elixir (1.6.6) - press Ctrl+C to exit (type h() ENTER for help)

iex(1)> My.test()
matched a map
matched a Dog struct
matched something else
:ok

iex(2)>