Optimizing nested recursion

I am new to elixir and am trying to replicate some nested looping from F# and C++. In those languages I used mutable arrays and with Elixir I am trying to replicate a 5 level deep nested recursive call.

I have some code that gives me the same count but its considerably slower. Any suggestions on how I can write this with improved performance and even fewer lines of code would be appreciated.

The test function at the end is what i use to execute the recursion. On my Mac it takes about 900 milliseconds.

defmodule Demo.Recursion do
  use Bitwise

def get_new_number(index, current_number, number_list), do: (Enum.at(number_list, index) ||| current_number)

def fifth_loop(number, start, counter, number_list) do
    items = for e <- start ..counter, do: get_new_number(e, number, number_list)
    items
  end

def fourth_loop(number, start, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list) do
    items =
        for d <- start ..fourth_count do
          new_number = get_new_number(d, number, number_list)
          fifth_loop(new_number, d + 1, fifth_count, number_list)
        end
    items
  end

def third_loop(number, start, third_count, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list) do
    items =
        for c <- start ..third_count do
          new_number = get_new_number(c, number, number_list)
          fourth_loop(new_number, c + 1, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list )
        end
    items
  end

def second_loop(number, start, second_count, third_count, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list ) do
    items =
        for b <- start ..second_count do
          new_number = get_new_number(b, number, number_list)
          third_loop(new_number, b + 1, third_count, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list)
        end
    items
  end

def first_loop(first_count, second_count, third_count, fourth_count, fifth_count, number_list) do
    items =
      for a <- 0 .. first_count do
        number = Enum.at(number_list, a)