Planning first elixir/phoenix APP - state questions

Newbie here, hope question makes sense :slight_smile:

I want to use elixir processes as the main source of truth and use DB only for persistence. Here is what I had in mind:

1: When user connects to socket/channel, spin-up their own genserver/agent process and load initial state from db. This state(3-10mb) will be updated very often via other elixir processes and then delivered back to users over channels.

2: Save it to db every x minutes

3: When user disconnects, close process.

Would it make more sense to hold all users data in something like amneisa? Another option would be to not even wait for users to connect but start processes with application - 1000 users with 10mb of data each… no problem holding it in memory? Benefit of this approach is that they will probably get initial data slightly faster when they connect.

1 Like

I guess the big question is why? (what are you trying to accomplish?) BTW amneisa would be a really cool name for DB :slight_smile:

I would ask have you looked up event sourcing before? One of the key architectural design decisions behind most event sourcing frameworks is not considering any command as being implemented until after it has been persisted to the main event store (which is the nosql main source of truth). If you do it the other way around, then there can be discrepancies between the client’s state and server’s state. This is slightly altered though if you are planning on really clustering your elixir nodes to provide redundancy and availability.

It also depends on how badly your users need accurate information of course! If you haven’t already come across the term, I would be sure that you read up on “eventual consistency” and its various flavors to be sure that you’re picking the right strategy.