Programming Erlang, lib_misc:odds_and_evens2

odds_and_evens2(L) ->
      odds_and_evens_acc(L, [], []).
odds_and_evens_acc([H|T], Odds, Evens) ->
      case (H rem 2) of
           1  -> odds_and_evens_acc(T,  [H|Odds], Evens);
           0  -> odd_and_evens_acc(T, Odds, [H|Evens])
      end;
odds_and_evens_acc([], Odds, Evens) ->
      {Odds, Evens}.

================================================
This is from Kindle location 2235. Armstrong’s book. I’m reading 2nd Edition and this wasn’t, to my memory, in the first edition. I’m re-reading but there’s more in 2nd Edition. I thought it was important to really understand Erlang before jumping into Elixir.

Question is about the second line, where you see a period. What does that line DO then, with L, [], []?
I get the rest, just don’t see how this works with that second line. I didn’t see this question posted, obviously, and yes, I’m a noob to this. But with Elixir, at least it took like one minute to solve things like FizzBuzz and I feel retarded with anything BUT FP languages (imperative-style loops are my bane). I’d really appreciate explaining how this works with the second line in there.

Calls odds_and_evens_acc([H|T], Odds, Evens) with Odds and Evens as empty lists?

Then, in odds_and_evens_acc/3 it gets the head H (it is probably a number) of the given list L, and if it’s odd, it adds this head to the Odds list (it doesn’t actually add though, just calls the function again with a tail T and a new list for Odds), and if it’s even, it does the same but for the Evens list. This happens until the first argument to odds_and_evens_acc/3 becomes an empty list. You probably didn’t need this explanation …

It would probably look something like this in elixir, if that helps.

def odds_and_evens2(list), do: odds_and_evens_acc(list, [], [])

defp odds_and_evens_acc([head | tail], odds, evens) do
  case rem(head, 2) do
    1 -> odds_and_evens_acc(tail, [head | odds], evens)