Pyramid of doom

Hi All,

I’m working on a backend system with an Elixir API that will be consumed by a separate phoenix app. Just about every function needs to return an :ok/:error tuple. I am ending up writing hideous functions, such as this one:

def get(id, %{user_id: user_id}) do
    # fetch user
    case Repo.get(SBCore.User, user_id) do
      nil -> {:error, "user not found"}
      user ->

# fetch request list
        case Repo.get(RequestList, id) do
          nil -> {:error, "request list not found"}
          request_list ->

# check permissions
            case can_view?(user, request_list) do
              false -> {:error, "insufficient permissions"}
              true ->

# return data
                {:ok, request_list}
            end
        end
    end
  end

I’m relatively new to Elixir, but I know enough to know that this isn’t pretty code. How do I save myself from the pyramid of doom? I thought maybe with was the answer, but I haven’t been able to make that work.

Another idea I had was to write smaller functions that conform to a standard pipeable interface, similar to how Ecto changesets work. Essentially I would pass a struct along which includes fields like valid? and errors along with data. If any validation along the way errors out, the remaining validations in the pipeline would just short circuit. Then I would only need one case and the end of the pipeline to handle the output. I think this would be workable, but it may be over-engineered.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you!

1 Like

Seems like you want with/else from Elixir 1.3 along with perhaps a better return than Repo.get/2 gives you:

def please_get(mod, id, error_msg) do
   case Repo.get(mod, id) do
      nil -> {:error, error_msg}
      thing -> {:ok, thing}
   end
end
   with {:ok, user} <- please_get(SbCore.User, user_id, "User not found"),
          {:ok, request_list} <- please_get(RequestList, id, "Request_list not found"),