React vs Liveview

Hi all,
I am trying to convince my team to use liveview over the current react. What are some of the points where one should consider using liveview instead of react?

To start off:

1. Using one language to code frontend and back saves us from context switching
  2. Arguably easier to do as there will no need for data serialising and de-seriialising or REST
3 Likes

What’s in it for you? Why are you trying to convince them?

Curious to hear more of your own arguments. (Not saying it’s a bad initiative, but trying to make you express your own reasons, and not the forums)

I am new to liveview, familiar with elm, rescript-react, angular, and various ssr solutions before SPA’s came around.

I am trying to figure out if there are operational downsides to using liveview, since it sounds like liveview changes you from running a mostly stateless backend to a stateful backend? Do you have to put more effort into horizontal scaling and thinking about node fail over?

Mainly because i am allergic to javascript. :smiley:

7 Likes

Elm is great fun, if js is your only objection, but I love the simplicity of server side, no API

Im a fan of elm as well. Keep a look out for this GitHub - gren-lang/compiler.

2 Likes

If you’re fond of automated testing, you can argue that it is way easier to test Liveview code than React.

3 Likes

Have you read the history lesson on why liveview came to be? You may get some answers there.

7 Likes

https://sheer.tj/three_years_of_phoenix_liveview_and_elixir.html#framework_liveview

That’s a pretty long article, but there’s probably 1000 words on phoenix liveview performance, maintainability, etc… but at the end of the day it really depends on your application.