Receiving realtime information from database-updating-GenServer

Hi there, thanks for reading this! I’ll try to be as brief as I can.

I am relatively new to Phoenix and Elixir, but doing well I hope. I am working on a Phoenix ‘game’: several hundreds of people will login simultaneously and start sharing messages. Not a huge workload, but enough to be careful with database storage. I have created a similar game in Rails, but it was unreliable. One of the things that caused troubles was a peak load on the database during the first 5 mins of the game.

This time, in Phoenix, I decided to use a GenServer to store all data in an :ets_table. This is working great! But I also would like to store this data in a Postgres database, preferably in a non-blocking fashion. I received an idea to do this with another GenServer. Every time I have to insert, or update a ‘record’ in the cache, I call this GenServer to do the same thing in the database as well.

Now here I started to get a bit enthusiastic… So the idea is to collect changesets in a queue. Every time a new changeset arrives in the queue I count the amount of items in the queue. If I have enough items (more than PostG’s pool_size items) I will execute a batch with Repo.insert or Repo.update wrapped in a Task.async. That also works. But! I almost always will end up with a couple of last elements in the queue (less than pool_size). To overcome this, I have a periodic task (using the tick function) to check if I have to flush the remaining items in the queue. Also works.

One of the nice things is that I can check if a certain record is updated twice in a single batch of changesets. If this is about to happen, I wait 0.2 seconds before I execute the second update to solve race conditions. Here is the code:

`
defmodule NetworkLab.GenServers.DatabaseAssistant do
use GenServer

alias NetworkLab.Repo

@tick_interval 1_000
@pool_size Application.get_env(:network_lab, NetworkLab.Repo)[:pool_size]

def start_link(_) do