Share Repo between umbrella apps

This is my first time with umbrella apps. I have created two apps. app1 and app2 and add app2 in app1 as an umbrella dependency. I don’t want to have separate data base for app1. I want to share the app2 repo between them.
How to configure it?

Thanks

1 Like

You can create a database app and share this between app1 and app2.

defp deps do
  [
    {:phoenix, "~> 1.3.2"},
    {:phoenix_pubsub, "~> 1.0"},
    {:phoenix_ecto, "~> 3.2"},
    {:phoenix_html, "~> 2.10"},
    {:phoenix_live_reload, "~> 1.0", only: :dev},
    {:gettext, "~> 0.11"},
    {:cowboy, "~> 1.0"},

{:database, in_umbrella: true}
  ]
end
3 Likes

I thought as it is a umbrella app so may be we can use the same repo by doing something like shared configuration or some thing like that

To expand on what @alexandrubagu was pointing you at, try this out and explore the generated code:

mix phx.new umbrella_test --umbrella

You’ll see in the apps/umbrella_test_web/mix.exs file that it references its sibling in the dependencies, as @alexandrubagu mentioned:

# Specifies your project dependencies.
  #
  # Type `mix help deps` for examples and options.
  defp deps do
    [
      {:phoenix, "~> 1.3.4"},
      {:phoenix_pubsub, "~> 1.0"},
      {:phoenix_ecto, "~> 3.2"},
      {:phoenix_html, "~> 2.10"},
      {:phoenix_live_reload, "~> 1.0", only: :dev},
      {:gettext, "~> 0.11"},
      {:umbrella_test, in_umbrella: true},
      {:cowboy, "~> 1.0"}
    ]
  end

If you were to then cd into apps/umbrella_test_web and run mix phx.gen.context Accounts User users name:string you’ll see some additional content generated in
both of the two umbrella apps, demonstrating the direct way you can reference and call code from the sibling app.