Should I rewrite an existing Java API services to Elixir/Phoenix?

Hi all,

Currently I have an existing Java REST API (around 400 - 500 APIs; developed using Spring Boot 2.X) in production. It’s being consumed by internal and external clients.

I am fairly new to learning Elixir (2nd attempt to learn Elixir again).

I am not sure rewriting this Java REST API is a good or bad choice.

Here’s why.

This Java REST API

• integrates to SOAP Web Services from vendors’ core systems (which I understand those core systems also using Java)
  • provides an endpoint for those core systems to push data to my side to process
  • comply to OpenAPI / Swagger

I plan to create an Elixir/Phoenix version as part of learning process, and maybe it can eventually replace that Java REST API if the new version can handle better than Java (not sure).

However, I am not sure whether Elixir/Phoenix will work well with SOAP Web Services when integrating with legacy core systems by 3rd party e.g. banks, insurances’ core systems.

Plus it also comply to OpenAPI/Swagger, if I change the API to Elixir/Phoenix, not sure will it impact my clients consumed it right now in production?

Or should I use Elixir/Phoenix for anything that don’t integrate to SOAP Web Services related?

Any help? Thanks.

The first question I would ask before re-writing anything would be: what is the goal? what is the current biggest problem? Is it scalability?
Elixir is based on Erlang so by default it is a good language for making a lot of small processes doing small things, parallelly.

Regarding SOAP, you have an Elixir client here: GitHub - elixir-soap/soap: SOAP client for Elixir programming language.
I assume you have a playground for development for banks and other organizations, try using it to see if you need to find a more advanced client or not, or maybe even write one yourself.

I worked with Java and Python and Elixir is much more pleasant to work with because of the build-in tooling and simplicity.

4 Likes