Single context per schema?

Hey everyone! I did some elixir work about a year ago, but I have started using my moonlight hours to pick up elixir and phoenix again :slight_smile:

As I was building out an app last night, I had a bit of a hard time naming contexts and remembering what I had named them. I definitely see the value of contexts, and they’re part of the reason I’m drawn to Phoenix. It’s just that I’m not used to having an extra ball in the air and I’m quite forgetful.

So I had a thought, what if I named every context the same name as the database table, renamed the methods to rely on the context name for clarity, and only used one context per schema?

I ended up doing things like this:

mix phx.gen.html Articles Article articles title body:text

and renaming the context methods from the generator to look a little more familiar to me (my background is mostly Rails):

defmodule App.Articles do
  def all, do: ...
  def get!(id), do: ...
  def create(attrs \\ %{}), do: ...
  def update(%Article{} = article, attrs), do: ...
  def delete(%Article{} = article), do: ...
  def change(%Article{} = article), do: ...
end

With this approach and the use of quick_alias I was able to get a lot more comfortable with the framework (I can just hop into iex and use years of Rails muscle memory by typing Articles.all, etc.).

Is this a common approach to working with contexts? Do you think there are any downsides to structuring my app this way?

Imo this is exactly what you don’t want to do long term. What you’re showing is basically crud with a module around it. What your code doesn’t show is what your app actually does. There are some articles, but I don’t know if this is this a newspaper cms or an e-commerce backend?