Some complaints about Elixir

Hi,

i am a beginner in Elixir. So far i have two main complains. Hoping i can get some advice on these.

1. The compiler does not pick up enough compile time errors like Haskell or Scala does. In the end i experience more runtime errors. Perhaps there is nothing much i can do here because its not a strongly typed language? Will using @spec help?

2. Have been trying out Phoenix and i dislike the fact that the DSL and the use of macros and meta-programming sometimes make things work like black-magic. Does this mean i have to learn the in/outs of meta-programming to understand things better?

2 Likes

Elixir is a dynamic language, so the compiler will not give you a lot with respect to types. If you use @spec the you can run Dialyzer/dialyxir to get type error checking.

More generally, Elixir and Erlang try to fail gracefully in production, which is a much broader and deeper topic that perhaps other folks can expand upon.

Yes, meta-programming is a bit of black magic. ELixir makes heavy use of macros, you’ll find them everywhere, but they’re more approachable than they appear at first. Thake a look at the guides here, and you’ll see how unless is a macro on top of if rather than a keyword.

Fortunately Phoenix is only a thin layer on top of standard mix projects. As you use it, you can start learning more about particular areas of interest.

1 Like

I don’t find that @spec helps with that many issues. For us, the only reason we use typespec is to act as lightweight documentation / readability. For a dynamic language, Elixir has a fairly advanced type system, so it isn’t always clear what a variable name user is.